Barton House evacuation: information for residents.

The three types of Mayor covering Bristol.

Mayor of Bristol

The Mayor of Bristol is directly elected by the people of Bristol. The Mayor leads the council and its councillors, to provide services for the people of Bristol.

The Mayor also performs a broader role representing the interests of Bristol's citizens on a national and international level.

Elections for the Mayor of Bristol are held every four years. The last election was on 6 May 2021, when Marvin Rees was re-elected. 

Visit types of elections for the dates of the next mayoral election.

West of England Combined Authority Mayor

The West of England Combined Authority (WECA) was established in February 2017.

Dan Norris, of the Labour Party, was elected the WECA Mayor on Thursday 6 May 2021.

The WECA is made up of three local authorities:

  • Bristol
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • South Gloucestershire

North Somerset voted against the WECA.

The WECA makes decisions for the region about:

  • transport
  • housing
  • adult education and skills

These responsibilities have been moved away from Central Government, who will provide £30m a year towards the WECA.

The WECA will be led by the elected WECA Mayor (sometimes referred to as the Metro Mayor). Elections for the WECA Mayor will be held every four years.

Lord Mayor

The Lord Mayor carries out ceremonial duties and chairs meetings, including the monthly full council meeting. The Lord Mayor is a serving councillor and is elected by the other councillors.  The Right Honourable Lord Mayor of Bristol is Councillor Paula O’Rourke.

Each Lord Mayor serves for one year. After this they usually become the Deputy Lord Mayor.