Admission arrangements 2017 to 2018

Admission arrangements 2017 to 2018

How school places will be allocated for 2017 to 2018

The determined admission arrangements for a school are the arrangements that set out how a school allocates places.

This includes the published admission number (the maximum number of places available), the oversubscription criteria and information on waiting lists.

We set the determined admission arrangements for all schools for which we are the admission authority, that is, community and voluntary controlled schools in the city.

For academies (including free schools), foundation schools and voluntary-aided schools, each school governing body or Academy Trust is their own admission authority and are responsible for determining their own admissions arrangements. 

Some of these schools have adopted our arrangements. For own admissions authorities, admission arrangements will be on the individual school’s website.

We are also responsible for determining the coordinated schemes that are used to administer the admissions process.

Determined Admissions Arrangements 2017/2018

Our admission arrangements apply to community and controlled schools. To read the determined admission arrangements for a neighbouring Local Authority or for a school that is not in Bristol see that Local Authority’s website.  

Bristol City Council 2017/18 admission arrangements for reception admission (pdf, 92k) (opens new window)

Bristol City Council 2017/18 admission arrangements for secondary schools (pdf, 21k) (opens new window)

Primary schools adopting Bristol City Council arrangements

Ashton Vale Primary School

Bannerman Road Community Academy

Begbrook Primary Academy

Broomhill Infant School & Children’s Centre

Christ Church Primary School (Clifton)

Colston’s Primary School

Compass Point: South Street School & Children’s Centre

Frome Vale Academy

Four Acres Academy

Greenfield E-Act Academy

Hareclive Academy

Holymead Primary School 

Hotwells Primary School

Illminster Avenue E-ACT Academy

Luckwell Primary School

Minerva Primary Academy

Oasis Academy Connaught

Oasis Academy Long Cross

Oasis Academy New Oak

Parson Street Primary School

Redfield Educate together Primary Academy

St Anne’s Infant School

St John’s C of E VC Primary

St Peter’s C of E Primary School

St Ursula’s E-ACT Academy

Stoke Bishop C of E Primary School

Summerhill Academy

The Kingfisher School

West Town Lane Academy

Westbury Park Primary School

Whitehall Primary 

Secondary schools adopting Bristol City Council arrangements

Ashton Park School

Bedminster Down School

Cotham School

Henbury School

Redland Green School

Primary schools determining their own admissions arrangements

Bridge Learning Campus (pdf, 269k) (opens new window)

Cathedral Primary School

Easton Church of England Academy

Elmlea Junior School

Fairlawn Primary School

Fishponds Church of England Primary School

Henbury Court Primary School

Henleaze Junior School

Holy Cross R C Primary School

Little Mead Primary School

Merchant's Academy

Oasis Academy Marksbury Road

Our Lady of the Rosary Catholic Primary School

School of Christ the King Catholic Primary School

SS Peter & Paul R.C. Primary School

St Bernadette Catholic Primary School

St Bernard’s Catholic Primary School

St Bonaventure’s Catholic Primary School

St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School (Bristol)

St Nicholas of Tolentine Catholic Primary School

St Patrick’s Catholic Primary School

St Pius X Catholic VA Primary School

St Teresa’s Catholic Primary School

Waycroft Academy

Westbury-on-Trym Church of England Academy

Woodlands Academy

Wicklea Academy

Secondary schools determining their own admissions arrangements

Bridge Learning Campus (pdf, 269k) (opens new window)

Bristol Brunel Academy (pdf, 408k) (opens new window)

Bristol Cathedral Choir School

Bristol Free School

Bristol Metropolitan Academy

Colston’s Girls’ School

Fairfield High School

Merchant’s Academy

Oasis Academy Brightstowe

Oasis Academy Brislington

Oasis Academy John Williams

Orchard School Bristol

St Bede’s Catholic School

St Bernadette’s Catholic Secondary School

St Mary Redcliffe & Temple CE School

Coordinated schemes for admissions

We coordinate and set the timetable for:

  • providing the common application form
  • taking applications
  • allocating places
  • sending out offers of a school place
  • appeal hearings

Coordinated schemes for 2017/18 are: