Admission arrangements 2018 to 2019

How school places will be allocated for 2018 to 2019

The determined admission arrangements for a school are the arrangements that set out how a school allocates places.

This includes the published admission number (the maximum number of places available), the oversubscription criteria and information on waiting lists.

We set the determined admission arrangements for all schools for which we are the admission authority, that is, community and voluntary controlled schools in the city.

For academies (including free schools), foundation schools and voluntary-aided schools, each school governing body or Academy Trust is their own admission authority and are responsible for determining their own admissions arrangements. Some of these schools have adopted our arrangements. For own admissions authorities, admission arrangements will be on the individual school’s website.

We are also responsible for determining the coordinated schemes that are used to administer the admissions process.

Determined Admissions Arrangements 2018 to 2019

Consultation on arrangements has now ended and the arrangements have been determined. 

Our admission arrangements apply to community and controlled schools. To read the determined admission arrangements for a neighbouring Local Authority or for a school that is not in Bristol see that Local Authority’s website.  

Bristol City Council 2018/19 admission arrangements for Reception Schools (pdf, 385k) (opens new window)

Bristol City Council 2018/19 admission arrangements for Secondary Schools  (pdf, 21k) (opens new window)

Primary schools adopting Bristol City Council arrangements

Air Balloon Hill Primary

Ashley Down Primary

Ashton Gate Primary

Avonmouth C. E. Primary

Badock's Wood Primary

Bishop Road Primary

Blaise Primary & Nursery

Brentry Primary

Bridge Farm Primary

Broomhill Junior

Brunel Field Primary

Cabot Primary

Cheddar Grove Primary

Chester Park Infants

Chester Park Junior

Elmlea Infants

Fair Furlong Primary

Fonthill Primary

Glenfrome Primary

Hannah More Primary

Headley Park Primary

Henleaze Infants

Hillcrest Primary

Holymead Primary

Horfield CEVC

Knowle Park Primary

May Park Primary

Millpond Primary

Nova Primary

Perry Court Primary

Sea Mills Primary

Sefton Park Infant

Sefton Park Junior

Shirehampton Primary

Southville Primary

St Barnabas C.E.V.C Primary

St George C of E VC Primary

St John's Primary

St Mary Redcliffe Primary

St Michael's on the Mount C of E Primary

St Peter's C of E Primary

St Werburgh's Primary

Stoke Park Primary

Summerhill Infant

Two Mile Hill Primary

Upper Horfield Community

Victoria Park Primary

Wansdyke Primary

Whitehall Primary

Primary schools determining their own admissions arrangements

Bridge Learning Campus (pdf, 204k) (opens new window)

Cathedral Primary (pdf, 222k) (opens new window)

Elmlea Junior (pdf, 505k) (opens new window)

Fishponds Academy (pdf, 322k) (opens new window)

Holy Cross R.C. Primary (pdf, 311k) (opens new window)

Merchants' Academy (pdf, 298k) (opens new window)

Our Lady of the Rosary Primary (pdf, 233k) (opens new window) (pdf, 266k) (opens new window)

Parson Street Primary (pdf, 321k) (opens new window)

School of Christ the King (pdf, 481k) (opens new window)

SS. Peter & Paul R.C. Primary (pdf, 634k) (opens new window)

St Bernadette Catholic Primary (pdf, 1.2MB) (opens new window)

St Bernard's Catholic Primary (pdf, 221k) (opens new window) (pdf, 401k) (opens new window)

St Bonaventure's Catholic Primary (pdf, 294k) (opens new window)

St Joseph's Catholic Primary (pdf, 417k) (opens new window)

St Nicholas of Tolentine VA Primary (pdf, 360k) (opens new window)

St Patrick's Catholic Primary (pdf, 1.1MB) (opens new window)

St. Pius X RC Primary (pdf, 283k) (opens new window)

St Teresa's Catholic Primary (pdf, 252k) (opens new window)

Steiner Academy Bristol

The Dolphin

Waycroft Academy (pdf, 283k) (opens new window)

West Town Lane Academy (pdf, 225k) (opens new window)

Wicklea Academy (pdf, 298k) (opens new window)

Secondary schools determining their own admissions arrangements

Bridge Learning Campus (pdf, 204k) (opens new window)

Bristol Brunel Academy

Bristol Cathedral Choir School (pdf, 191k) (opens new window)

(pdf, 191k) (opens new window)

Bristol Catherdral Choir School: sixth form (pdf, 105k) (opens new window)

Bristol Free School

City Academy Bristol

Colston's Girls' School

Merchants' Academy (pdf, 298k) (opens new window)

Oasis Academy Brightstowe

Oasis Academy John Williams

St Bernadette Catholic Secondary (pdf, 401k) (opens new window)

St Mary Redcliffe and Temple (pdf, 487k) (opens new window)

St.Bede's Catholic College (pdf, 890k) (opens new window)

Steiner Academy Bristol

Some schools have adopted the Local Authority arrangements.

These schools are:

Primary Schools

Ashton Vale Primary

Bannerman Road Primary (pdf, 532k) (opens new window)

Barton Hill Academy

Begbrook Primary

Broomhill Infants

Christ Church C.E. Primary

Colston's Primary

Compass Point South Street

Easton CE Academy

Fairlawn Primary

Filton Avenue Primary (pdf, 101k) (opens new window)

Four Acres Academy

Frome Vale Academy

Greenfield E-Act Primary Academy

Hareclive Academy

Henbury Court Primary Academy

Henleaze Junior

Hotwells Primary

Ilminster Avenue E-ACT Academy

Little Mead Primary Academy

Luckwell Primary

Minerva Primary Academy

Oasis Academy Bank Leaze

Oasis Academy Connaught

Oasis Academy Long Cross

Oasis Academy Marksbury Road

Oasis Academy New Oak

Redfield Educate Together Primary Academy

St Anne's Infants'

St Ursula's EACT Academy

Stoke Bishop C of E Primary

Summerhill Academy

The Kingfisher

Westbury Park

Westbury-on-Trym C of E Academy

Woodlands Academy

Secondary Schools:

Ashton Park School

Bedminster Down School

Bristol Metropolitan Academy (pdf, 275k) (opens new window)

Cotham School

Fairfield High School

Henbury School

Oasis Academy Brislington

Orchard School Bristol

Redland Green School (pdf, 140k) (opens new window)

Coordinated schemes for admissions

We coordinate and set the timetable for:

  • providing the common application form
  • taking applications
  • allocating places
  • sending out offers of a school place
  • appeal hearings

Coordinated schemes for 2018/19 are: