Mayor election result 2012

Mayor election result 2012

Please note this is the results from the 2012 election.  See May 2016 results .

In 2012 following the results of the Stage 1 and Stage 2 counts, George Ferguson was declared the first elected Mayor of Bristol.

Of the first and second preference votes counted:

  • George Ferguson received 37,353 votes.
  • Marvin Rees received 31,259 votes.

See details of the Stage 1 count results (pdf, 30 KB) (opens new window) (pdf, 31k) (opens new window) .

See details of the Stage 2 count results (pdf, 25 KB) (opens new window) (pdf, 26k) (opens new window) .

See election result by count table. (pdf, 13 KB) (opens new window) (pdf, 14k) (opens new window)


Overall turnout was 27.92%.

See detailed turnout by Ward. (pdf, 58 KB) (opens new window) (pdf, 58k) (opens new window)

See verification totals by Ballot Box. (pdf, 10 KB) (opens new window) (pdf, 11k) (opens new window)

Contact information

Electoral services

PO Box 3399

Bristol City Council

Bristol, BS1 9NE

Opening Hours

Opening Hours

Monday to Thursday,  9am to 5pm
Friday,  9am to 4.30pm


Tel: 0117 922 3400

Fax: 0117 922 3461