The Mayor and Cabinet

The Mayor and Cabinet

The role of Mayor and Cabinet and decisions they can take.

Every year, the Mayor forms a Cabinet. The Cabinet is made up of the Mayor Marvin Rees and Cabinet members.

The Cabinet's role is to:

  • provide leadership
  • propose the budget and policy framework
  • implement policy through strategic directors.

Find Cabinet meetings

See the decisions that the Mayor will take in the forward plan 

The Mayor

The Mayor has ultimate responsibility for all major policy decisions.  Whilst some of this responsibility may be delegated to, or shared with Cabinet members, the Bristol Mayor currently retains this function.

The Mayor makes 'executive' decisions within the budget and policy framework set by Full council. Executive decisions are only made by the Mayor that:

  • are more than £500,000 spending or savings or
  • have an impact on more than one ward

These decisions are taken in public at Cabinet meetingsHealth and Wellbeing Board and Learning City Partnership Board meetings.  

Cabinet members

Cabinet members are councillors with special responsibilities over an area of the council's activities, such as, neighbourhoods or transport. Their area of responsibility is known as their portfolio. 

Cabinet members may work with council officers and others to develop policy within their portfolio, which then comes to Cabinet for formal approval.

The Cabinet decides the council's key policies.

  • Mayor Marvin Rees – existing duties plus economy, external relations (including international), sports and physical activity (including leisure centres), culture, regional work through the West of England Combined Authority, city infrastructure (including arena), the Clean Streets campaign, City Office and democratic engagement, new Congestion Task Group, flooding, clean air and tackling the climate emergency, housing delivery
  • Councillor Craig Cheney, Deputy Mayor – Finance, Governance and Performance, management of the Housing Revenue Account budget
  • Councillor Asher Craig, Deputy Mayor – Communities (Public Health, Public Transport, Libraries, Parks), Events and Equalities
  • Councillor Helen Godwin – Women, Families and Homes (Lead Member For Children’s Services)
  • Councillor Kye Dudd – Transport and Energy, the Green New Deal, Clean Air Zone planning
  • Councillor Anna Keen – Education and Skills
  • Councillor Helen Holland – Adult Social Care
  • Councillor Nicola Beech – Strategic Planning and City Design, Flood Strategy
  • Councillor Steve Pearce – Waste, Commercialisation and Regulatory Services
  • Councilllor Afzal Shah -  Climate, Ecology and Sustainable Growth

Councillor Leads

There is one supporting Councillor Lead who provides extra capacity for work on International relations: 

Councillor Hibaq Jama – International

Councillor Leads are not formal Cabinet Members.