Listed buildings

A building is listed when it is of special architectural or historic interest and considered to be of national importance and therefore worth protecting. Buildings become listed on the recommendation of English Heritage to the Secretary of State (for DCMS); local authorities do not have the power to list or de-list buildings.

Find out if a property is listed

  • See ‘ Know your place’. (Select ‘address’ and input your postcode, then select ‘listed buildings’ from the drop down under ‘historic information’.)
  • Search the National Heritage List for England on the   English Heritage website. (Choose ‘advanced search’, ‘City of Bristol’ under ‘location’, ‘District/Unitary Authority/Borough’).

Categories of listed buildings

  • Grade I are buildings of exceptional interest (about 2%).
  • Grade II* are particularly important buildings of more than special interest (about 4%).
  • Grade II are buildings of special interest, which warrant every effort being made to preserve them (about 94%).

Each grade has the same legal protection.

A listing covers the attached structures and buildings within the historic curtilage – this means that the listing is for the whole building, interior and exterior, plus any object or structure fixed to the building or that forms part of the land since before 1 July 1948.

Before you buy a listed building

You need to make sure that any previous alterations have been carried out with listed building consent. If you take on a building that doesn't have the necessary consents, you may have to correct any alterations or even be committing a criminal offence.