Find out how buildings get listed and what different listings mean.

Buildings get listed following surveys by Historic England or after being put forward by individual request. Buildings and land are assessed based on the principles of selection for listed buildings.

Historic England will then make a recommendation to the Secretary of State for the Department for Culture, Media and Sport who makes the final decision.

Find out more about the selection criteria used to list a building

Categories of listed buildings

The following grades of listing are used to show the level of special interest of the building, although there’s no difference in their level of legal protection:

  • Grade II buildings are of special interest; 92% of all listed buildings are in this class and it is the most likely grade of listing for a home owner
  • Grade II* buildings are particularly important buildings of more than special interest; 5.5% of listed buildings are Grade II*
  • Grade I buildings are of exceptional interest; only 2.5% of listed buildings are Grade I

List descriptions

The list includes a description of each building that describes some features, including those that led to the listing. If a specific feature isn't mentioned it doesn't mean it's not covered by the listing.

Curtilage listings

Curtilage listings cover land, buildings and structures, such as boundary walls, railings and out-houses, which are part of the land of a listed building.

Something is ‘curtilage listed’ if it:

  • forms part of the land and has done since before 1 July 1948
  • supports or compliments the listed building in any way

List entries made or changed since 26 June 2013 may exclude some curtilage buildings from protection.