Our website will be unavailable from midday to 3pm on Wednesday 24 July. Sorry for any inconvenience.

What teams make up the Sensory Support service.

Who we are

The Sensory Support Service operate under a joint arrangement across four local authorities:

We are committed to providing the best support and advice by ensuring our staff are up to date with new developments and have specialist qualifications and skills to provide the best quality service.

The Head of Service and QTVI is Joao Roe.

Hearing Support Team

The Hearing Support Team consists of a group of:

  • Teachers of Deaf (ToDs)
  • Educational Audiologist
  • Audiology Technician
  • Sign Language Communication Advisors (SLCAs)
  • Specialist Teaching Assistants (STAs) 
  • Transition coordinator

The team includes:

  • Team Leader and ToD: Sarah Evans
  • Hearing Support Coordinators and ToD: Jo McPherson
  • Educational Audiologist and ToD: Ann Rayter

We offer advice, support, and training to ensure that children with a hearing loss achieve their potential.

Vision Support Team

The Vision Support Team consists of a group of:

  • Qualified Teachers for the Visually Impaired (QTVIs)
  • Teacher for children and young people with multi-sensory impairment (MSI teacher)
  • Specialist Teaching Assistants and technicians (STAs)

The team includes:

  • Team Leader and QTVI: Nathan Meager
  • Vision Support Coordinator and QTVI: Helen Maltby
  • The Head of Service and QTVI: Joao Roe

Contact us
Sensory Support Service
Elmfield House
Greystoke Avenue
BS10 6AY

Phone: 0117 903 8442
Text: 07407 814 763
Email: sensorysupportservice@bristol.gov.uk